05. July 2007  
Indianapolis / USA  
Artistic Gymnastics

USA Gymnastics select thePan Am U.S. Women’s Team ...

.... for the 2007 Pan American Games
USA Gymnastics has selected the six women it will nominate to the U.S. Olympic Committee to represent the United States in gymnastics at the 2007 Pan American Games, July 13-29, in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, on top with the 2003 balance beam winner Nastia Liukin...

These Pan Am Games provide a valuable international opportunity for all participating athletes and very good preparation for the upcoming Worlds in Stuttgart...
<< Nastia Liukin is returning for her second Pan Am Games.
In 2003, she was on the gold-medal team and also won the title on the balance beam, was second in the all-around and third on the uneven bars and floor exercise.  She also is a two-time U.S. all-around champion as a senior (2005-06) and as a junior (2003-04). Liukin won the world title on both the balance beam and uneven bars in 2005.
At the World Championships in 2006, she won a silver medal in both the team competition and the uneven bars.

Shawn Johnson, who is competing as a senior in 2007, won the 2007 Tyson American Cup. In 2006, Johnson won the junior all-around title at the Visa Championships, where she also claimed the gold medal in the vault, balance beam and floor exercise. At the USA vs Great Britain International competition, she won the all-around and balance beam and was on the team that won the title, along with  Samantha Peszek and Rebecca Bross. Johnson won the all-around and balance beam and was second on vault and floor at the 2006 Junior Pan American Championships, where she, Peszek and Bross were on the team that won the title.
Pending USOC approval, USA Gymnastics has already announced the teams for men’s artistic gymnastics and trampoline.
The six-man USA Pan Am Team is comprised of: Guillermo Alvarez of Denver/Team Chevron;
- David Durante of Garwood, N.J./Team Chevron;
- Sean Golden of Camden, N.J./Gattaca;
- Joseph Hagerty of Rio Rancho, N.M./Team Chevron;
- Justin Spring of Burke, Va./Team Chevron; and
- Todd Thornton of Houston/Team Chevron.
(The replacement athletes are
- Sho Nakamori of Albany, Calif./Stanford University, and
- Bryant Hadden of Wichita, Kan./Stanford University)